The Commissioners are to reflect the County’s diversity, including racial, ethnic, geographic, and gender diversity, and demonstrate they possess the following experience:

  • Analytical skills relevant to the redistricting process and voting rights
  • An ability to comprehend and apply the applicable State and Federal legal requirements
  • Ability to be impartial
  • An appreciation for the diverse demographics and geography of Los Angeles County


The Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk (RR/CC) received 741 applications by September 8, 2020. The RR/CC then reviewed the applications and narrowed the applicant pool to 533 qualified applicants, based on Senate Bill 958. The RRCC assigned RR/CC staff to independently review the applications and separated demographic information from the review of subjective questions to eliminate potential bias. RRCC identified the pool of 60 most qualified names and submitted them to the Auditor-Controller after the 30-day public review period.

Random Drawing

The Los Angeles County Auditor-Controller conducted a random drawing at the Board of Supervisors’ meeting on November 24, 2020, selecting 1 Commissioner from each of the 5 existing Supervisorial Districts and 3 Commissioners randomly drawn from the remaining 55 applicants.

Remaining Commissioner Selection

The 8 randomly selected Commissioners met during four special meetings between December 14, 2020, and December 28, 2020, to select the remaining 6 Commissioners from the remaining 52 qualified applicants. On December 28, 2020, the list of the adopted 14 CRC Commissioners was finalized.

Skip to content