

REDISTRICTING 2021

Redistricting Fact Sheet

A first in Los Angeles County history! An independent Los Angeles County Citizens Redistricting Commission (LA County CRC) will redraw the supervisorial districts for the next 10 years.

What You Need to Know

How This Redistricting Process Differs From Past Practices

In the past, the Board of Supervisors had the final say before adopting the final redistricted boundaries. Today, the LA County CRC is designed to be independent from the influence of the Board and reflect the County's diversity.

Redistricting Overview

Our work involves adopting supervisorial districts that are about equal in population – about 2 million people per district – based on U.S. Census data. Other considerations are fairness regarding race and ethnicity; not splitting cities, neighborhoods, and communities of interest; and having compact districts.

Why Redistricting Matters

At the local level, periodic redistricting can help to:

- Ensure our County's diverse population and communities have opportunities to have their voices heard
- Enable voters to elect representatives of their choosing and not draw supervisorial districts in such a way as to dilute fair opportunities
- Have Supervisors be responsive to the preferences and needs of residents through:
 - Public policies to improve lives
 - Public services and resources (e.g., public health and medical centers, social services, parks, sheriff, municipal services to unincorporated areas and contract cities... and many more)



We want a transparent and inclusive process. Have your voice heard by:

- Attending our regular meetings
- Sharing your thoughts at our Public Forums and Public Hearings
- Submitting written public comments
- Preparing and submitting maps for consideration
- Letting others know about redistricting

Sign up! Get involved:

https://redistricting.lacounty.gov/



Who We Are

Co-Chair Daniel Mayeda Co-Chair Carolyn Williams

Commissioner Jean Franklin Commissioner David Holtzman Commissioner Mary Kenney Commissioner Mark Mendoza Commissioner Apolonio Morales Commissioner Nelson Obregon Commissioner Priscilla Orpinela-Segura Commissioner Hailes Soto Commissioner Brian Stecher Commissioner Brian Stecher Commissioner John Vento Commissioner Doreena Wong