

MINUTES FOR THE VIRTUAL MEETING OF THE LOS ANGELES COUNTY CITIZENS REDISTRICTING COMMISSION

Monday, December 28, 2020 10:00 AM

VIDEO FILE FOR ENTIRE MEETING NOW POSTED ON YOUTUBE: (21-0217)

<u>Attachments:</u> <u>Video Link</u>

Call to Order. (21-0107)

The meeting was called to order at 10:05 a.m. Thai V. Le, KH Consulting Group staff for the CRC, took roll call.

Present: Commissioner Jean A. Franklin, Commissioner David Holtzman,

Commissioner Daniel Mayeda, Commissioner Nelson Obregon, Commissioner Priscilla Orpinela-Segura, Commissioner Hailes Soto, Commissioner Brian Stecher PhD and Commissioner John

Vento

I. CONSENT CALENDAR

1. Review and take appropriate action on the December 26, 2020 Draft Los Angeles County Citizens Redistricting Commission (CRC) Minutes. (21-0108)

Draft minutes for the December 26, 2020 meeting were not ready for CRC review.

<u>Attachments:</u> <u>SUPPORTING DOCUMENT</u>

II. ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

- 2. Review of the Commissioners' evaluation of the CRC applicants and selection of six additional CRC members and possible alternate members and complete selection by December 31, 2020, or schedule additional meetings on:
 - Tuesday, December 29, 2020 at 2:00 p.m. OR
 - Tuesday, December 29, 2020 at 7:00 p.m. (21-0110)

Commissioner Holtzman's percentages for Political Party Affiliations includes voters who are registered in other parties (i.e., not republican or not democratic), which he included with the registered voters who are No Party Preference. The CRC will use his percentages to reflect political party affiliations and representation.

The Commissioners had completed an online survey where they proposed their Slate of 6 Commissioners to be added to the CRC, along with comments. Executive Director, Gayla Kraetsch Hartsough, Ph.D., (Gayla KH), displayed the Commissioners' individual Slates of 6. Each Commissioner presented his/her rationale for their respective slates. Gayla KH also shared frequency counts of applicants who appeared on one or more Slates of 6.

Thai Le presented a series of maps that plotted, by zip code, where the qualified applicants being considered resided.

Thai V. Le read to the Commissioners a written comment from Nancy Diaz. The Commissioners pointed out that since the initial evaluation of the 52 qualified applicants, the Commissioners have read many more of the applications to develop their Slates of 6.

The Commissioners discussed the options and refined the Slate of 6. On motion of Commissioner Mayeda, seconded by Commissioner Franklin, the CRC Commissioners reviewed and approved the following Slate of 6:

- Carolyn Williams
- Apolonio Morales
- Doreena Wong
- Saira Soto
- Mark Mendoza
- Priya Sridharan

The Commissioners requested Gayla KH to have the Executive Office:

Notify the 6 new Commissioners as quickly as possible

• Inform the other 46 qualified applicants of the decision and inquire if they would want to remain on the list as possible candidates to serve as Alternates.

Gayla KH will be surveying the 14 Commissioners to schedule the first meeting when they will be sworn into office.

There were no public comments.

Ayes: 7 - Commissioner Jean A. Franklin, Commissioner Daniel

Mayeda, Commissioner Nelson Obregon, Commissioner Priscilla Orpinela-Segura,

Commissioner Hailes Soto, Commissioner Brian Stecher PhD and Commissioner John Vento

Noes: 1 - Commissioner David Holtzman

Attachments: SUPPORTING DOCUMENT

PUBLIC COMMENT

III. MISCELLANEOUS

Matters Not Posted

3. Matters not on the posted agenda, to be placed on the agenda for action at a future meeting, for matters that required immediate action because of an emergency situation or where the need to take action came to the attention of the Commission subsequent to the posting of the agenda. (21-0111)

Commissioner Holtzman is researching possibilities for a statement regarding, "Indigenous Land Acknowledgement," at the start of CRC meetings – to be discussed with the full Commission once sworn into office.

Adjournment

4. Adjournment of the meeting of Monday, December 28, 2020. (21-0112)

The meeting of December 28, 2020 was adjourned at 12:48 p.m.